“LUKEWARM…struggling with sin”

Willing Spirit Weak Flesh_thumb[1]

 “So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.”

Though this message was written for the Church in Laodicea for their actions during that time, can we apply this message to our personal lives today? Many of us have walked trying to balance ourselves between being holy (untainted by the world) and yet trying to advance in the world (our human nature) that sometimes seem to go against the Word of God and some of us still struggle in this walk today. I’m guilty of this personally. We find ourselves wanting to become “successful” by definition of the world that sometimes we tend to forget God’s word of being friends with the world we become enemies of God. Forgetting that as children of God, this isn’t our home; that we’re just passing through, and therefore as the Word states “be content with what ye have” and press onward in Christ keeping our eyes on the prize, because we know that God will provide ALL that is needed, perhaps not what we want, but his grace is sufficient, amen. I believe there’s nothing wrong with being successful or achieving your hearts desires, I only believe that “spiritual maturity” plays an important role in this strive for success, because as we are being matured in the Word, we stay grounded without compromising our position in Christ Without being grounded in God’s word (walking as infants) we can easily be influenced by the enemy to drift apart from God and open doors unwanted. However, there’s a part of me… that dreadful sinful nature, that seems to rise up now and again and begin to question that authority of God wanting to be like those that are in the world, when the Word states; “Though you are in the world you are not part of the world.”, leaving open doors and the flesh struggling against the spirit, causing this inner battle between flesh and spirit and the fighting of the enemy from the outside trying to influence rebellion against God’s Word. Paul said it best in Romans 7: 14-23 when he stated;

For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.” What a struggle! This flesh is alive and desires things of this world that is contrary to the World of God, but only when we allow ourselves to be lead by the human nature and not the Spirit. This is our cross to carry to remind us to crucify this flesh daily and humble ourselves under the hand of God that we may find help in those dark hours of need. Therefore, rejoice! I’ll say it again…REJOICE! Because we know that we have a Lord, King and Conqueror who has overcome the world and that lives in each one of us, and therefore we who are in him have overcome by our faith. So move forward and lift your plans and heart desires before God who will direct your path according to his will, and success shall rise because they are established by God. Choose your stand and remain unshakable in your faith and may the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob protect you and keep you. God bless.

REMEMBER!!! Go take a peek at the novel if you haven’t yet. “Battlefield of Angels” It’s a glimpse at spiritual warfare around us and rate this. Though fictional in content many of the events are real and a shadow of my life.  

http://www.amazon.com/Battlefield-Angels-United-States-Slavery/dp/1491815663/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1380993713&sr=1-2&keywords=battlefield+of+angels

Leave a Reply

